In another announcement, WhatsApp has come up with an update that is not just a technical relief but also a relief to many people who are worried about their privacy. The company wrote that users can now select who from their contact list to see Profile Photo, About, and Last Seen status.
“The safety and security of you and your messages matter to us. We want you to know about the tools and features we have designed to help you stay safe while using WhatsApp. Users can set last seen, profile photo, about, or status to the following options — Everyone: Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status will be available to all WhatsApp users; My Contacts: Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status will be available to your contacts from your address book only.
With the new update, there will be an option of- My contacts except..- which will allow you to see your last seen, profile photo, about, or status to be available to those contacts from your address book, who you allow.
“We encourage you to think carefully before you decide to share something with your WhatsApp contacts. Consider whether you would want others to see what you have sent. When you share a chat, photo, video, file, or voice message with someone else on WhatsApp, they will have a copy of these messages. They will have the ability to forward or share these messages with others if they choose to,” the company said.
With more updates coming through, WhatsApp is now set to roll out pause and resume for voice notes for their Windows beta app that has already been implemented on iOS and Android.
WhatsApp is also working on introducing a feature that will allow users to view the status updates right within the chat list. This would be just like Instagram Stories of users. It can be viewed from the direct message list. The instant messaging and calling service is developing the feature to be released at a later date, according to WABetaInfo.
Screenshots by WABetaInfo show how a status update published by a contact can be seen right within the chats list when the user is searching for chats and messages.