Sharing is caring

According to Twitter Safety, they have finally rolled out the new feature giving all users the ability to ‘unmentioning’ themselves from a Twitter chat, which enables users to deactivate their profile links within conversations that they no longer feel comfortable with taking part in.

The new feature’s testing began in April 2022, You might want to use this feature yourself if you’re stuck in a toxic conversation or simply don’t want to receive notifications for a thread you’re a part of.

Also Read: WhatsApp is working on reporting messages over the Desktop

How a user can UNMENTION yourself from a tweet?

All users can now select the three-dot menu next to a tweet to pull up a prompt offering to “get you out of this conversation.”

The pop-up explains that leaving the conversation will untag you in the replies, though your username will still appear. When you unmention yourself from a tweet, your Twitter handle will turn gray, which will indicate to others that you’ve opted out of the conversation and can’t be tagged back into the thread.

Your username will still appear in text form in the initial tweets you were involved in, but you won’t be an active part of the exchange once unmention is active.

Twitter New Update
Source: 9to5mac

The official launch of the feature comes as the social network has been building out anti-abuse features into its platform. Last September, Twitter started testing an anti-abuse feature called Safety Mode, which allows users who are facing harassment to filter out abuse.

Within Safety Mode, Twitter analyzes interactions and algorithmically blocks accounts that are sending abuse. The company expanded the Safety Mode test in February. The company is also continuing to test a new “Safety mode” feature that automatically blocks trolls from appearing in your mentions.

Twitter’s new Unmentioning feature is rolling out today to all users on all platforms, including Twitter for iOS, Mac, and the web.